photo-7I was at a zero on the motivation scale. Seriously, before I went to bed Tues night, I knew my schedule was going to be all crazy. Snow day, enough said.

Do it anyway.

It looks like such a small space. But, our family really can put a lot of things on a flat surface.

Dealing with one sheet of paper at a time. One unopened bank statement per account, per month for the past six months. Unused coupons. School work piled high. Why don’t I put this all in the recycling when it comes in the door?

Guilt and shame. Cleaning up clutter is a constant reminder of the things that get avoided.

Take a break. Lunch with the kids. They have been hiding in their rooms, hoping I wouldn’t ask them to help. I have made them each a pile of knickknacks, papers, books, hair clips, etc…. Take what you want and I will throw away the rest. My youngest asked…. “Why are you throwing it all away?” …. It doesn’t have a place here any more.

I went through it all. Every thing given a specific place and purpose. I sat down and sorted through the pens and threw away the ones that don’t work, the pencils too short to be sharpened, the notes and lists made months ago and never given a real priority. It’s exhausting.

My triumphs:

  • I haven’t spent a dime while I de-clutter. I have used things I already have around the house.
  • I overcame the moments of guilt. It is so easy to get overwhelmed by the feeling of inadequacy. I should do better than this, but I don’t. I am learning and changing and pushing through.
  • I am keeping track with photos. I love pics and I love seeing the progress. I hate the mess and it makes me feel shame, but when I compare it to the finished work, I am filled with confidence.

Today, was my greatest victory yet. My oldest daughter got up, snow day number two, a little late. We were making breakfast in the kitchen and she asked what was for dinner tonight. Walking over to my new binder system, she says…. “You fit all your binders in this little box?” …. pulling out the meal planner and says…. “I love tacos.” Putting the binder away, my 14-year-old put the box back where it came from.

I am so grateful that it is never too late to teach ourselves or our children a new way to do things.

 

