Do you have someone who has ever spurred you on to something great in your life?

A few years ago, I finally decided to quit smoking. I had been smoking for over 10 years, it was just part of my identity and something I desperately wanted to give up.

The hardest part was giving up something I had always relied on. In good, bad and everything in between, smoking had become my coping in all of life’s situations. So, I gave up the cigarettes and traded them in for food. Oh yeah, 12 pounds in 3 months. Yikes!! That is when it happened…. someone reached out a hand and helped me out.

My friend Sarah decided I should start running. She is a crazy marathoning mama and knew how great it would be for me to start running, in more ways than one. Step by step, she encouraged me. She gave me books to read, words of wisdom and challenged me to push myself to something I couldn’t have imagined. Sarah is a mentor in my life. I have now run 2 half marathons, two full marathons and am training for more great races to come this year. I have been smoke free for three years and have a good, healthy way to cope with stress and anxiety.

I am grateful for Mentors in my life. I have had many people willing to lead me to things much greater than I could have ever done alone. And in turn, I have had the opportunity to pour into the lives of some amazing people, helping them to see potential in themselves.

I say all of this for a reason. This month, at Canvas Church, we are starting our mentoring program, Reflect. In our health, marriage, parenting, careers( and the list goes on), we look for people who are doing it more successfully then we are. But, often times, we miss the need to mentor and be mentored in our spiritual lives. Reflect is going to give us all the opportunity to connect with another christian, create a place of learning, build a firm foundational belief system, and experience godly encouragement and accountability.

To lead or be led? I suppose that is the real question. We all need both. My hope is that in either case, Canvas Reflect with be a place for both in your life. Is it time to be a helping hand? Or, are you looking for a safe place to ask questions, learn and be given a hand to see your potential in the kingdom of God.

You can apply to participate in Canvas Reflect at http://mycanvaschurch.com. If you have questions, please email me at angela@mycanvaschurch.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

