feet on the ground“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” ~Lau-Tzo (Chinese Philosopher)

I have heard this quote a million times. I’m sure you have to. I found it interesting that the correct interpretation of his words are; “The journey of a thousand miles begins beneath one’s feet.” or “Even the longest journey must begin where you stand.”

It is often in that moment when we are standing still that our decisions to act and move forward are made. Our most courageous, our most “stand in the face of fear” moments aren’t made in the step, but in the moment before faith is required. Sometimes its a crossroads, sometimes it is a place we have just been in a long time and are ready to step out of.

6 years ago, I made a major decision. I quit smoking. This was not my first step on the journey. But, something was different this time, a “standing my ground” moment. It was time, time to change, time to face fears, time to give up what was bad for me to discover what was better. It was time to stop making excuses, time to move forward.

My journey has been quite amazing. In fact, I find myself at another moment. This is where I am, I know where I want to be and I am about to take that first step. But first, I am planting my feet with resolve. I will not waver. I need to be prepared. Yes, I may stumble, there will be pain, there will be change. But, today I stand my ground and say “It’s going to be worth it.”

There are journeys you are being called to. Things we don’t choose to do in haste. We can’t run into them with impatience and unrealistic expectations. You see, the greatest journeys don’t happen in the first step, they happen somewhere along the way. Find your footing, find your balance, know your resolve and then move into the great adventure that awaits you.

