footprintsIt may seem small and kind of insignificant to most.

I consider myself a fairly confident, strong and independent woman. But, don’t let me fool you. I am confident, strong and independent in the things I already know how to do and do well.

Recently, I had to take a small step of faith. I had to overcome some of the stereotypes I have placed on myself. Sometimes, I believe I am “less than” because I have never been to college. Sometimes, I believe I have less to contribute to the world because I am a stay-at-home mom. Don’t get me wrong, I know what I do and have done as a mother has value and is important and does impact the world, in its own way.

There is just this thing, the way women compare ourselves one to another. Then, the thing where society assumes I don’t have above average intelligence if I stay home with my children. And then there is the guilt of having never gone to college. It can feel too late to start again when the big 40 is just around the corner.

For those of you out there who never feel the insecurity of comparing yourself to what others or yourself may think, more power to you. I just wanted to be honest with everyone. I don’t always feel pride in myself. I don’t always look in the mirror and think, I can totally do that. Sometimes, I am overwhelmed with fear. I’m afraid of failure, afraid of judgement, and afraid I just won’t be able to do it, I’m just not going to meet the expectations I have placed on myself.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear. ~Ambrose Redmoon

Sometimes, we just need to decide. Decide something is more important than our judgements and stereotypes. Decide what we want is more important than our paralyzing fears. We must decide to have the courage and faith to take the small steps, so that before we know it we are somewhere we never expected, but always hoped, to be.

What keeps you from taking the small steps to living to your full potential?

